Heat Wave in June??

9 Jun

We’re in the middle of a heat wave which is very strange this early in June. The thermometer out back read 101* in the shade yesterday. Today it’s expected to be the same. I woke up at 6am to get in a couple of really easy miles and decided to bag my run. It’s just too humid out there. Yesterday’s long run was really hard. I found myself walking at mile 4. The heat took it’s toll on my body, even at 7am. We walked and then found a water fountain, refilled our water bottles and headed back for 4 more miles back to our cars. 8 miles shouldn’t feel this hard, but it did.

I’m looking forward to hitting 30 miles this week with a 10 mile LR on Sunday. Tomorrow is the last day of this heat and then we are suppose to get storms and a cold front. I hope that it cools the mornings down somewhat.

I’ve recently been reading Hal Higdon’s Marathon: The Ultimate Training Guide, in which he spoke about goals and plans and such. So, I’ve come up with a 4 year running plan. The first two years of running I’d like to test my ability to run at the different distances, learn my speed and pacing. In my third year I’d like to focus on the shorter distances, those between 5 miles and the half marathon distance. I’d like to PR at the half marathon distance. In my 4th year I’d like to focus on endurance and the longer distances.

Year 1 took place last year, in my first year of running. I tested myself at distances between 2 miles and the half marathon (2 miles, 5k, 4 miles, 8k, 10k, 10 miles, half marathon ). I basically learned my capabilities as a runner as well as how to pace. It’s been a great first year. Now into my second year I’ll continue to test the distances, but those longer than what I’ve run last year. I’m starting it off by running several 5k’s and trying to get a decent PR at that distance. I’ll be running another half marathon as well as my first marathon (If you have been checking in on my blog regularly you’ll remember me mentioning a secret that a few weeks ago I wasn’t quite ready to tell.

I’m going to spill it here and now …

This message is generated as confirmation of your recent registration on Active.com. You have been successfully registered for the following:
RRegistered for:egistration: Philadelphia Marathon

Yep, I’m taking the plunge and am attempting the marathon distance. )

Philadelphia, here I come!

2 Responses to “Heat Wave in June??”

  1. Nettie June 9, 2008 at 8:26 am #

    Hooray! You’re going to kick some marathon booty for sure!

  2. Runnin-From-The-Law June 9, 2008 at 9:12 am #

    It will be fun to watch your marathon training progress and compare notes as we both train for our first marathons this fall!

Comments are closed.

