Marathon Training – Day 1

22 Jul

Goal: 7 mi @ 9:00-9:30 pace
Actual: 7 mi @ 9:20 pace

Today signifies the beginning of my marathon training, officially. I say “officially” because I feel that I have already been training since the day I decided to run the marathon. During my base building phase I ran more mileage than I did during my half marathon training. I’m attributing this to weather mostly because I haven’t been sick (knock on wood) since March. During base building I averaged in the mid 30’s for my weekly mileage, which is where my current training plan begins. I am also doing the 100 Pushup Challenge concurrent with the kickoff of my marathon training, thank you Christie for the idea (see bottom of this page for link to challenge.)

So, on to today’s splits.
1 – 9:18
2 – 9:33 (hill)
3 – 9:22
4 – 9:17
5 – 9:24
6 – 9:26
7 – 9:03

2 Responses to “Marathon Training – Day 1”

  1. Runnin-From-The-Law July 22, 2008 at 8:33 am #

    Yeah! Good start – right on target. It will be fun to watch your training!

  2. sauconRunner July 23, 2008 at 9:56 am #

    Great start, Jill!

Comments are closed.

