Say Hello To Jack

29 Jul

Goal: 8 mi @ 9:45
Actual: 8.18 mi @ 9:35

Taking the lead from Cindi, today I set up the Virtual Partner, which I will call ‘Jack’, on my Garmin. I’ve switched around my goal paces this week to slightly slower. I’ve also gone through my training program, labeled the mesocycles and determined that I want to run the slower end of my paces in this first mesocycle (6 weeks.) Thus, the 9:45 pace General Aerobic run.

I didn’t realize it was as hot as it was outside, or rather as humid. The actual morning temperature has been very consistent (~70*). I was sweating like crazy and I felt heavy. I also have my watch set up so that I don’t see pace at all, just distance. I want to run by feel and try to hit my paces. Well, I beat Jack in the end by 1:15. My splits:

1 – 9:08
2 – 9:39
3 – 9:39
4 – 10:10 (hills)
5 – 9:33
6 – 9:33
7 – 9:21
8 – 9:16

They actually look pretty consistent except for the hills that I hit in mile 4. I’ll do this again for Thursday’s 10 miles and hopefully run along side Jack instead of in front of him.

7 Responses to “Say Hello To Jack”

  1. Runnin-From-The-Law July 29, 2008 at 11:32 am #

    Jack, as in “wait up for me, you Jack Ass”?! That will come in handy when you set if for the tempo and faster runs! I like it!If our heat goes away by Saturday so that my HM goal is realistic, I am planning on using the Virtual Running Dude to pace me to a sub 1:45:00. Unfortunately, it doesn’t look like weather is going to cooperate, so I’m not sure how well that will work.

  2. Jill July 29, 2008 at 11:59 am #

    … as in 'Jack & Jill', but I like the jack ass thing, too. :)I was thinking about the VP for races as well. I'm glad I finally got to tinkering around with it. I have a feeling you'll do really well this time around in your HM. Good luck Cindi!

  3. KP July 29, 2008 at 12:04 pm #

    Jill – are you using McMillan for your training paces?

  4. Jill July 29, 2008 at 12:09 pm #

    KP, the short answer is no. It’s a combination of McMillan, interpreting Pfitzinger, input from loopy (from KR) and going with feel.

  5. Maria July 29, 2008 at 2:07 pm #

    Tell me more about this VP… I have a Garmin and have never used one. Does it beep to keep ya on track? Keep up the great work!

  6. Jill July 29, 2008 at 4:42 pm #

    Hey there Maria! I didn’t know you were reading my blog. I don’t know if it beeps (maybe Cindi can chime in on that) since I have mine set not to beep and I’ve been wearing headphones. VP has two different display screens. The first one has two fields; the top shows two runners (you and VP) and shows which one is ahead/behind. The bottom field shows the distance you are either ahead or behind. The second screen also shows two fields; the distance you have left until your workout is complete and your lap pace.I loved using the program and definitely plan to use it from now on. Give it a try for sure! I’m curious to know how you like it.

  7. Nettie July 31, 2008 at 10:54 am #

    I used VP on mine a long time ago and I found it pretty frustrating as I have the opposite problem that you have. 😉

Comments are closed.

