A Long Run (of sorts)

1 Mar

This morning I met up with my RP bright and early after an evening of Thai food (at Thai Thai II) and beer. Armed with coffee, several different layers to choose from and a slight hangover I headed to the park ready for a run even if I was still very tired. (I woke up at 3:30 am and couldn’t fall back asleep. I eventually nodded off for an hour or so and was lucky to make it over to the Parkway on time.)

It was really hard to judge the correct attire to don for the run. It was an overcast 32* outside after a 4:00 am dusting of snow (and I would know that because I was actually awake at that time.) The tank top seems to be my new base layer of choice, perfectly keeping my front just that much warmer, so I started with that, then a silk shirt and my favorite blue winter running top with the built in mittens at the end of the sleeves. I love running tops with that kind of forethought. One loop around the Parkway (4.25 miles) and I had to change into just a thin windbreaker over my tank, just like yesterday. That felt a million times better and I was ready for another loop.

(Note: the fashion reports lately are mostly for me since I have such a hard time deciding what to wear in the winter. Summer running is so much easier! Wear as little as possible.)

8.5 miles in total. It went quickly because of the great conversation with my RP. I’ve really missed that in the past months. (5 months?! Has it really been that long??) 9:38 average pace and the longest distance I’ve run since the stress fracture.

2 Responses to “A Long Run (of sorts)”

  1. Maria March 1, 2009 at 8:11 pm #

    Great job Jill!

  2. Runnin-From-The-Law March 2, 2009 at 7:01 pm #

    Nice work! Good pace and good distance. You’re back!

Comments are closed.

