It's Just a Rainy Monday Around Here

6 Apr

Let’s start off today with the fact that I only have one weightlifting session this week. According to James Orvis (author of the weight training program I am following) in order to avoid over-training and to allow all muscles and systems in my body to recuperate I need to take 5-7 days off from all formal training once every two months, approximately every two months. Therefore, only one 12-Minute Workout for this week. Today’s was pretty easy: 2 sets each of DB Squats (oops! I did barbell squats, just realized that), DB Press and Hammer Curls and 3 sets of Ab Bench Crunches. I also just realized that instead of the DB Press I did the DB Bench Press. Oh well. It’s done.

Also biked 11 miles total today. 10 quick ones and 1 cool down mile.

So, does the break from all formal training include any biking this week as well? I was planning on doing a bunch of biking this week, maybe one or two 20 milers.

My shins are sore again, that started during my 10 miler yesterday in Philly. Nice, huh? It’s my own fault, with this Half Marathon looming over my head and not having trained for it at all, I figured at the very least I could get a couple more 10 milers in before the race. The good news is that the weight of all that stress and worry has been lifted off my shoulders because my friend Lisa is going to run it in my stead with my RP. She can be me for the morning. She’s not raced for two years and is anxious to get one under her belt to test where she is in her fitness. So, now I am able to take this week off from running (again!) and then start back very slowly and ease my way into it correctly since I don’t really have anything looming in my future. I cannot tell you what a relief this is for me.

Actually, I’m really looking forward to the respite from working out this week. Next week I can come back very refreshed and ready for some new challenges.

4 Responses to “It's Just a Rainy Monday Around Here”

  1. Lacey Nicole April 6, 2009 at 12:15 pm #

    which half marathon are you running? that’s too bad about the shins. my achilles/calf is starting to bother me again so of course i’m spending all my time thinking about it 🙂 i added you to my blog list btw so i can read your new posts!

  2. Sneaker Sister April 6, 2009 at 1:57 pm #

    Lacey, you mean which half marathon am I no longer running 😉 … it’s the Lehigh Valley Half Marathon (formerly Runners World HM) on May 3rd.

  3. Melanie April 6, 2009 at 10:04 pm #

    shin splints suck… take the break, and hopefully with a slower comeback, you won’t have to deal with it again!

  4. Sneaker Sister April 7, 2009 at 8:40 am #

    That’s exactly what I’m thinking Melanie. I had the pressure of that race and needed to at least to be able to run the distance even though I hadn’t planned to “race” it. Now I don’t have to worry about it and can run lower mileage and ease my way into the higher mileage a lot slower than what I was doing. If they come back again I will be heading to the doctor for orthotics.

Comments are closed.

