Second Brick For The Week

10 Apr

Peanut wandered into our room at 4 am last night. Ugh! Every night this week has been like this. She is sick, poor thing. I was probably up for a good hour before dozing off again. Despite this, I just had a killer workout at the gym this morning. I headed over at my usual time but the place was packed! Everyone must have off from work today and decided that they want to get their workouts done early. All of the machines were taken, the only two remaining were the Stairmaster and the Mountain Climbing one. So, onto the Stairmaster and I started climbing steps. I can’t remember how many flights of stairs it said I climbed, over 30 stories for sure. It ended up being 1.02 miles worth of steps.

Next I headed over to the bike. I decided to try out the race setting. I punched in my weight, age and level and then it’s a 5 minute race. I set it on level 7. Maybe I should have put in a different level because, get this, it gave me a rating of 52 and said I was Elite. Yea, right! I’ll try it again next week at a higher level. 1.8 miles in total for the 5 minute race.

Now for my regular bike workout. 25 minutes, 9 miles. Averaged 21.6 mph.

Just then I decided I wanted to do another brick. Since I wasn’t walking all the way downstairs, gathering my stuff and taking it to the car my transition was so much quicker. Maybe a minute tops. I hop on the treadmill and first I started out slow because I wasn’t sure how fast my legs would go after 30 minutes on the bike at 21.6 mph. Within a few seconds I punched it down to a 9:15 pace for the first mile and then 8:46 pace for the second mile.

Can I tell you how much I am loving these brick workouts?? I love them! I feel so good afterwards.

Planning to hit some trails tomorrow and I’ll take my camera so that I can provide some pretty sites for you to look at. Hopefully the weather man is wrong and it WON’T be raining tomorrow.

4 Responses to “Second Brick For The Week”

  1. Lacey Nicole April 10, 2009 at 11:44 am #

    i did the stairs this week, too! i really feel like in a short amount of time i can get a fast and furious intense workout in!

  2. Melanie April 10, 2009 at 12:01 pm #

    great job on the brick workouts, i want to start doing those again 🙂 Have an awesome trail run tomorrow!

  3. Oscar Yeager April 10, 2009 at 1:09 pm #

    You’re not too far from NYC, maybe next year you could try the stair-climb race up theEmpire State Building?86 stories, and 1/5 mile. It is a fairly small race, but draws people from all over the world.

  4. Sneaker Sister April 10, 2009 at 5:02 pm #

    Oscar, I know some people who have done that stair climb. It sounds hard!Melanie, aren’t bricks awesome? Lacey, one of these days I will get around to trying out that Climbing machine.

Comments are closed.

