I Feel Like A Slug

15 May

My body is still feeling sluggish. Some more iron pills should take care of that. I almost blew off my run this morning. I was either going to run 2 miles or 4 miles, it was undecided last night. This morning I decided on 2 miles. I poured a few sips worth of coffee into my mug for a quick boost of energy which I sorely needed this morning.

As tired as I was feeling, my first mile started off at a sub 8 pace. That wasn’t going to last long though because my neighborhood has hills and I was off my game. Could be low iron, could be my Dad calling late last night to inform me he has a tumor, could be a combination of the two. Drawing strength from my Dad’s news I kicked ass on the hills and ended the run on a sweet note with a nice pace (see workout stats to right.)

As of right now my new lite belt (thank you Kevin at Just Finish! and GoMotion) is out for delivery. Too bad the UPS truck makes deliveries around 5pm to my street. I’ll be on a plane at that time, heading to Atlanta for the weekend.

You know what, I might actually become a New Balance convert. The pair of NB that I won feel really good. I mean REALLY good. Better than the Saucony Guide. At first I felt some fabric at the toes where the lacing ends that I thought was going to be a problem, but it has never bothered me since that first day. They are narrower, my feet feel lighter when running in them and they just feel better. And, I’m in this eternal search for red running shoes. The NB has a pink pair of the 769 that comes pretty close. This will be my next running shoe purchase:

Enjoy your weekend folks! Good luck to any racers out there, rest up and take it easy to those that are healing and I’ll see you on the flip side!

“Live hard and run strong.” – sneakersister
(yea, that’s my motto)

4 Responses to “I Feel Like A Slug”

  1. Mel-2nd Chances May 15, 2009 at 9:14 am #

    sorry to hear about your dad, but glad you were able to focus and use the energy for a kick-@$$ run. Safe travels this weekend.

  2. sneakersister May 15, 2009 at 9:15 am #

    Thanks Melanie.

  3. Lacey Nicole May 15, 2009 at 9:26 am #

    i’m really glad you like your shoes! i’m sorry it sounds like you have hit a rough patch, but you know what you are still rallying. i’m sorry about your dad– that is devastating news. hang in there and hopefully you will get energy from your runs. do what you can, that’s all we can ask, right?! great job attacking the hills, too.

  4. Oscar Yeager May 16, 2009 at 1:12 am #

    Kind of strange how sometimes we can feed off of unpleasant information, but I’ve noticed that too.But for me anyways, it can work both ways, sometimes being a motivator, other times taking runners off of their plans, or not being into the running from a mental perspective.I’ve always liked the New Balance shoes too, although I had always just bought any pair that fit, and weren’t specifically running shoes.Lately, I’ve purchased some other brands to save money, but had problems with them, so I guess I’ll go back to the New Balance brand next time.I guess many people believe the ( New Balance Shoes ) are made in the U.S., but all of my old ones say “Made In China” on them, it seems there is a lot of both junk and good stuff coming from that country.

Comments are closed.

