Brick Revisited

20 May

It’s been quite a while since I’ve done a brick workout. Just looking back on my logs it looks like the last time I did one was 4 weeks ago (not counting the quarter mile brick on 4/30) when I rode 20 miles and then ran 1 mile. Today I planned on 10 miles on the bike, which I did, in the usual time, 27:47 or a 21.6 mph pace. It was actually a spur of the moment decision to jump on the treadmill for a mile while I was stretching out my legs prior to wiping down the bike.

So, I hop on the treadmill and crank out a mile in 7:32. Yep. That’s right. Last month I ran an 8:22 mile after that 20 mile ride. I am definitely noticing progress these days. This makes me even more hopeful and excited about my summer training.

And after all that, I headed to the weights area for another strength session. I did 2 sets of each of the following giant sets:

1) Reverse Crunch/Ab Bench Crunch/Reverse Crunch
2) Hammer Curls/2 DB Pullovers/Cable Curls
3) DB Squats/Leg Curls/Deadlifts

I am now pleasantly tired and ready to play with the girls for the rest of the day.

“Live hard and run strong.” – sneakersister
(yea, that’s my motto)

6 Responses to “Brick Revisited”

  1. Lacey Nicole May 20, 2009 at 11:49 am #

    WOW! congrats! that is a fast mile and after biking– woo woo! i know my legs always feel sort of in the bent/stiff position after biking, so it takes some time to stretch out, but looks like you are right there and ready to go! 🙂

  2. sneakersister May 20, 2009 at 12:03 pm #

    Thanks Lacey. I’m pretty excited to have recorded that mile. Makes me look forward to the mile repeats I’ll be doing this summer. I know exactly what you mean by stiff legs and that is why I started doing the bricks because the running stretches out my legs after the bike rides better than just stretching while sitting on the floor. I do follow up with that kind of stretching afterward. I still say Bricks Rock!

  3. Maria May 20, 2009 at 12:56 pm #

    It’s interesting, my legs feel so much more energized and loosened up after a spin class where a run immediately afterwards is nearly always a fast one. In contrast, biking outdoors and then running provides a very different experience – legs are a bit more shot up and nearly as ready to start running. Do you notice the same?

  4. sneakersister May 20, 2009 at 2:54 pm #

    I can’t really say, Maria. I don’t ride outside. Strictly indoors for me. If I ever get my road bike fixed up then I’ll head outdoors and I’m not going to get any decent road workouts on my mountain bike.

  5. Heather C May 20, 2009 at 3:44 pm #

    whoa whoa -fast mile!!! Impressive weight session too 🙂 i wish I had more motivation to lift weights at the gym. you’d think…with all those machines and free weights…yah, you’d think. haha not my thing!

  6. Oscar Yeager May 20, 2009 at 5:32 pm #

    Hmmm, interesting. It seems that a lot of people in the running blogs I follow are starting to get faster all of a sudden, including myself.Looking over my log book from last year, along with reading the blogs, it seems many people go through the same periods of stagnation followed by rapid advancement around this time of year.

Comments are closed.

