Fall Racing Plans

27 May

Not sure what got into me today but I had a triple workout this morning.

1) 10 mile bike ride in 27:45

2) Weightlifting session consisting of Giant Sets for the lower body. Lots of walking lunges with weights, deaflifts, calf raises, leg curls and three variations of crunches.

3) 2 mile run on the treadmill in 17:40

Still trying to figure out a fall racing plan. I’ve decided to race half marathons this Fall: September, October and November. There is a local half marathon in September that is logistically a better choice, but it’s along the canal which means extra humid, lots of bugs and a narrow path. The race is limited to 1,000 runners. There is a half marathon in Harrisburg on the same day which is cheaper and it’s a road race (as opposed to the trail race) and I’m leaning towards that one.

There is a half marathon (see previous post) on October 4th, the Jersey Shore HM but initial internet searches haven’t turned up too much info for me. There are two HM’s to choose from on Oct. 18th. The Atlantic City HM had 423 runners last year, it’s run on the boardwalk and streets and it’s fairly cheap but I’m curious about the winds. There is also the Seaside HM which is cheaper yet ($25 before 10/12) and is run on both the boardwalk and then into Island Beach State Park. That might be a good one for me.

November choices include the Philadelphia Marathon/Half Marathon – not a big fan of the large field size. My other choice is the C&D Marathon Run Fest & HM in Delaware which appears to be on a rails to trails course.

Decisions, decisions …

“Live hard and run strong.” – sneakersister
(yea, that’s my motto)

5 Responses to “Fall Racing Plans”

  1. Colin Hayes May 27, 2009 at 12:17 pm #

    Sounds like we have similar plans. I’d like to run my first marathon next spring, but would like to do a half before that…and probably a fall half. I may run the half at the Seattle Marathon in November, unless I can find something smaller (I don’t like the huge races, either). Looks like your training is going very well, so you should be right on track!

  2. Tim Doiron a.k.a "Derv" May 27, 2009 at 1:25 pm #

    Make a road trip to Portland Maine, inexpensive hotels, great foliage, nice small race, nice course and of course I will be there and you can finish before me, ladies first…

  3. Maria May 27, 2009 at 2:23 pm #

    If NYC isn’t too far, there are two HMs in October:Grete’s Great Gallop – 10/3 (run in Central Park)Staten Island HM – 10/11 (run mostly through neighborhoods)I’ve run both and can give you more details on either/both if you’d like

  4. sneakersister May 27, 2009 at 3:11 pm #

    Thanks Maria, I will keep those in mind.

  5. Bob D May 27, 2009 at 10:53 pm #

    Thanks for your h2o comments! I expect I will run sometime Sat and/or Sunday but no way to know when this far in advance (such is my life). If possible I’ll let you know and we can put in a few miles if you don’t mind slowing down! Or let me know when you expect to be there and I’ll try my best to hit that time.

Comments are closed.

