A Run Is A Run Is A Run

28 May

Got up at the crack of pre-dawn (if there is such a thing) for a run before DH headed out of town to visit one of the plants in Maryland. 5:00 am is pre-dawn enough for me at the moment. I’m sure that will change as the warmer and more humid weather settles in and I run in the dark more often for the sheer coolness it provides. In any case, the alarm went off at 5 am and I was out the door by 5:15.

I had my new GoMotion Lite belt strapped on and it worked great! A slight mist accompanied me for the entirety of my run which was nice, for the most part. After a while the water accumulates and starts to drip down my face which is rather annoying.

After yesterday’s triple workout my legs were pretty tired. I figured they would be and that I’d just take things easy today, which I did. I cannot tell you how surprised I was to see my final average pace staring at me on my Garmin, 8:32. Didn’t expect that, figured it would be closer to 9:00.

So, are you a fasthole or a slowhole? Or do you know someone like this? I can’t remember exactly how I got to this very interesting article yesterday on the Oregon Live blog site but I am going to link to it for you. Trust me, it’s a great article that I’m sure you’ll enjoy.

Fasthole – \ˈfast – hōl\ (noun): Someone who thinks they’re better than another runner simply because they are faster.

Slowhole -\ˈslō – hōl\ (noun): Someone who thinks runners that run faster than them are all jerks.

“Live hard and run strong.” – sneakersister
(yea, that’s my motto)

6 Responses to “A Run Is A Run Is A Run”

  1. Oscar Yeager May 28, 2009 at 9:22 am #

    I don’t like the terms, because as the article goes on to say, there are so many variations that few people fit the concrete definitions as defined in your post.I will say that I am fully aware of the names of the locals who are faster than I, even if I have never formally met, or talked to them, I look at them as obstacles that need to be overcome, but don’t have any animosity towards MOST of them.But that gets complicated too, as you always get the out of town ( JERK! ) who no one has ever heard of that shows up and demolishes your age group or even the overall race. Makes you think they get some perverse pleasure dusting new faces all the time.The good thing about the local races I run in is that the overall average times of the runners tend to stay fairly even from one year to the next, so that if you can rapidly improve your times, you will also rapidly ascend what I will call “The Local Ladder,” to the point that more people will notice you and WANT to talk to you, find out what you are eating, how you are practicing, etc.

  2. Fair Weather Runner May 28, 2009 at 12:02 pm #

    HAHA that’s funny about the fasthole and slowhole. I have to say I’m neither, maybe I’m just a jealoushole… I get jealous because I can’t be faster!!

  3. Lacey Nicole May 28, 2009 at 3:01 pm #

    that is kind of funny terminology!!! i am neither!!!! i like your “a run is a run is a run”!!!! and i think walkers deserve some kudos, too!! 🙂 i just want to be faster than myself…

  4. sneakersister May 28, 2009 at 3:23 pm #

    I have to say that I am neither of those terms also. But I do know a fasthole. I’m with you Lacey, I just want to improve my own paces. I could care less about how fast everyone else is running (well, except for one fasthole that I want to beat.)

  5. Libby May 28, 2009 at 9:32 pm #

    I would call myself a slowhole.Guess I am just jealous haha.

  6. heather C May 29, 2009 at 6:55 am #

    ha I am definitely neither – I compete with myself and thats about it! there are a lot of people faster than me; if I was bitter about this then I would never enjoy running! big props for heading out at 5 am in the humidity!!

Comments are closed.