Tired = Good

17 Jun

I am tired this morning. I mean, TIRED. But, this is a good tired because I had a tough time sleeping last night. “Good because you didn’t sleep last night?” you ask. Well, you see, I was so excited to wake up early this morning and head over to the Parkway for quality workout #1 of the week that I kept waking up all night for fear of sleeping through my alarm, or some stupid reason like that. Why I worry about sleeping through my alarm is beyond me because I am always up before the alarm goes off.

So, I turn the alarm off at 5:25 this morning so that it doesn’t go off at the appointed 5:30 am. Creep out of bed, pull on my new Under Armour shorts (which I wasn’t sure I would like but have decided after this morning that I love them) and then head over to the Parkway. (Yes, I wore a shirt, too.)

Today’s workout looked like a good one and it certainly did not disappoint. Thanks Coach C!

2 mile warmup
2 miles @ tempo
5 minute jog
5×1 minute pickups
1 minute jog between pickups
2 mile cooldown

I was pretty happy with the results of my run.

tempo – 16:13 (8:07) – right on target
pickups – 0:58 (7:30), 0:59 (7:09), 0:59 (7:10), 1:00 (7:13), 0:59 (7:08)

During the early part of my run I kept thinking about something my running partner always says about running in the Parkway. She says she feels slower when she runs there. This morning I would have to say that I agreed with her. I kept wondering how this workout would feel if I had run it on the streets instead of crushed gravel paths. But then again, I would have had to have stopped at intersections because of morning traffic and at least in the Parkway I don’t have that problem.

I didn’t run with music either. Last year I use to take my iPod on my tempo runs. It didn’t bother me and instead, allowed me to talk myself through the whole run.

I had this run set up as a workout in my Garmin and never knew what my paces or splits were during the run. I’d get a countdown beep (5 beeps) during the last 5 seconds of each segment which signaled to me to get ready for the next step in the workout. It was fun checking out how I did once I got home.

I’m pretty happy with how things went and I know I ran it well because I am now pleasantly tired and refueling with gatorade, bananas, waffles and coffee.

I think I’ll skip the gym today and head over tomorrow for another upper body workout. I’ve decided that as far as weightlifting is concerned I will focus on biceps, triceps, back and abs, three days a week. I’ll probably end up hitting the gym on Tues/Thurs/Sat if that works out with my running schedule.

6 Responses to “Tired = Good”

  1. Lacey June 17, 2009 at 11:51 am #

    ahhhh you have hit the great feeling right on the nose. i read this and wished i was sitting there right with you eating waffles and bananas and coffee and going over my great workout in my head 🙂 nice job!!!!!!!!!!!! you did a whole super set of running, love the stats!

  2. Tim Doiron a.k.a "Derv" June 17, 2009 at 1:25 pm #

    nice run, I am positive that though I don't always like 100% of my runs I love how I feel when I am done with the run. My half marathon plan starts next week so I am building up the quantity and quality in preperation. Thanks for sharing the run…

  3. Colin Hayes June 17, 2009 at 2:38 pm #

    That's an awesome workout! I can feel your excitement, because I share it. I'm off from running today (just weights) but I nearly headed out to a local track to run some speed, until my wife got home and I couldn't (she knows I need to focus on the bike now and that it's a "no running" day for me). I'll just live vicariously through you until I can focus on running again after the bike race. Enjoy your evening!

  4. sauconRunner June 17, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    Great Job, Jill! I miss the parkway and hope to head out there one of these weekends.

  5. joyRuN June 17, 2009 at 6:29 pm #

    I'll be thinking of you when I try (again) to crawl out of bed at 5:30a tomorrow. SO. HARD.

  6. Heather C June 17, 2009 at 7:52 pm #

    bananas and waffles?? mmm, that makes me want breakfast right Now (and its almost 8 pm)! I hear ya on the alarm thing – I still do that and I work out in the morning pretty frequently! Depends on how tired I am the night before, but I'm usually up before the alarm too. glad you enjoyed the morning workout! 🙂

Comments are closed.

