Who Knew The Grocery Store Would Reap Such Great Results

17 Jul

Good morning (or afternoon) to everyone out there in blog-land! Hey, thanks for the blog suggestions yesterday. I’ve added those to my list as well as a few more. I found plenty of great new stuff to read.

Let me get today’s exercise report out of the way before I get to some other things. 20 miles on the bike at the gym in 55:34 for an average of 21.6 mph. I just can’t seem to get that bike to go any faster. I’d love to push it to 22 mph one of these days. Later I’ll try to get some exercises done in the pool, either laps or underwater running, or both.

I have finally found some headphones for my iPod that I can actually use. It’s been an eternal search for me as earbuds never stay in my ears and the old school headphones that I use to use recently broke. Remember this style?

So I was back to the earbuds. Those always end up falling out of my ears.

I’ve tried these:
Those don’t work for me either.

The local Apple store sells earbud style headphones with the foamy things on the end for upwards of $80 and I’ve been having a really hard time shelling out that kind of dough on headphones when I got my iPod for less money than that. So, I’m at the grocery store yesterday and in the school supply section tucked in amongst the pens and pencils there are some Skullcandy headphones for $9.95. The exact foamy style earbuds that I’ve been lusting for. I snagged them and couldn’t wait to get home to try them out. I love them. Perfecto!


I also grabbed some more Detour Runner bars that I discovered last week (at the grocery store.) These bars are quite tasty, I tried the Chocolate Peanut Butter flavor. Yumm. I also grabbed their original Detour bar (chocolate crunchy peanut butter) as well as their lower sugar bars (caramel peanut and chocolate chip caramel flavors). The original and lower sugar bars contain 30g of protein per bar. They really pack it in there!


I picked up a copy of the August issue of Runners World yesterday. I’ve missed reading it, having opted to let my subscription run out several months ago. The information started to seem stale to me and I needed something new so I subscribed to Bicycling magazine for the year. Egh. It’s okay but I’ve realized I missed reading stuff about running, even if it is stale (and it still is.) So, I was paging through the magazine and happened upon the Road Tested column (page 40). Here they mention some new (and not so new) things that they’ve tried out and reviewed. First on the list was Justin’s Organic Peanut Butter Pack. Hey! I just tried that the other day – I thought to myself. I found it a month ago in the Organic section at Wegman’s and thought that it was a great idea to get a few of those packs for emergencies. I picked up the Cinnamon Peanut Butter pack and used that, along with a banana, to make the most delicious sandwich. I definitely need to pick up some more of that.

Lastly, I want to thank Tom and Amy over at Runners Lounge for the Open Mike interview they asked me to do. It was very therapeutic for me to sit down and think about my answers to all of your questions. You guys have created a wonderful running community over at the Runners Lounge. Thank you for all of your hard work and effort.

Have a great weekend!

3 Responses to “Who Knew The Grocery Store Would Reap Such Great Results”

  1. Oscar Yeager July 17, 2009 at 12:02 pm #

    That was nice reading you being interviewed at Runner's Lounge. I totally agree with you about the speedwork being very important.Good pics also, that was the 1st time I'd ever seen them all in one place together. ( Flickr )

  2. Julia July 17, 2009 at 4:22 pm #

    I love the grocery store! It's my favorite place to shop at; I'm not a fan of department stores, trendy fashion stores, shoe stores, etc. Haha I am such a dork :)Thanks so much for the super helpful Garmin advice the other day. I took your advice and took my Garmin out for a test jog yesterday, and it was SO much better! I can't wait to see all the other functions the Garmin has! Thanks!

  3. Runnin-From-The-Law July 18, 2009 at 11:15 am #

    Love the interview Jill!

Comments are closed.

