Intervals

5 Aug

Here I am at the track this morning, 5:47 am. The sun is just starting to rise. A month ago it was nice and bright at this time. Our daylight is waning and the days are beginning to grow shorter. And so it is as summer nears its end.

So, are you ready for the cooler, Fall season? I know I am.

This week’s interval session was a light one and I planned to practice my 5k pace for Saturday’s race. Yea, that was a big fail. I ran all of my intervals faster than I had intended. Oops! I was totally on target through the first 400 meters but apparently I sped up in the second lap. I had actually written the splits in ink on my arm so that I could look down and see if I was on target or not.

100 m – 27 seconds
200 m – 55 seconds
400 m – 1:50
800 m – 3:40

I consistently hit the first 100 meters in 27 seconds. For the 200 meter split I hit it in 55 for the first two intervals and 53 in the 3rd interval. I adjusted and hit 400 meters at 1:50 every time. I didn’t bother to write splits for the second 400 because I figured by that point I’d be set with the pacing and in my groove, I wouldn’t have to pay attention any more. Just run.

The workout: 3 x 800

Goal: 3:40 (7:23 pace)

Results:
time (pace)
3:25 (6:52)
3:29 (7:00)
3:33 (7:08)

I slowed down on purpose on each subsequent interval. I really wanted to memorize my 5k pace but it just wasn’t working. Whatever happens on Saturday, happens.

All in all, I ended up with just shy of 5 miles. No sluggish legs today. I felt good, really good, despite having stayed out until 10 pm last night meeting up with a bunch of high school classmates, some of whom I have not seen since we graduated 22 years ago.

7 Responses to “Intervals”

  1. Oscar Yeager August 5, 2009 at 9:39 am #

    Running speed intervals faster than goal pace shouldn't be a problem if you're still in training mode.Since you are even considering next month's HM a "Training Run," I'd save the tapering for whatever race is most important to you.If you race often and taper for every race, you will lose fitness.Kick ass on Saturday, 5K'S are my fav.

  2. Marlene August 5, 2009 at 11:33 am #

    I am definitely ready for the cooler temps. Not the biggest fan of summer.Nice job on the intervals! Good luck at the 5K – you are in good shape!

  3. Marci August 5, 2009 at 11:58 am #

    Good job on the intervals, I like cooler temps myself!

  4. J August 5, 2009 at 1:00 pm #

    I know what you mean about it being darker in the morning on the track. It tough to see at 5am now when the sun isnt up. but thats the way it goes : (

  5. joyRuN August 5, 2009 at 2:01 pm #

    Well dang, speedy! Time to drop those goal paces!

  6. trialsoftraining August 5, 2009 at 5:40 pm #

    YES – cooler temps, please hurry!! shorter days? um, not so much. dangit.Great job on the intervals! I love speed-days where you just Feel it, and it shows. 🙂

  7. Jo Lynn August 5, 2009 at 5:53 pm #

    I love fall. I'm ready for fall. NOT rain, just fall weather and beauty. I think runners appreciate fall more than any other people on the planet. 😉

Comments are closed.

