Weekly Wrap Up

22 Aug

I really enjoyed running this week. Well, I always enjoy running but this week felt good. It started off last Sunday with a 12 mile progression long run which was really fun to do because I haven’t done a progression run in a long time but really exhausting because of the 11 days leading up to that run. Then my successful 5 mile tempo run which I was a bit nervous about, followed two days later by intervals at the track. A couple of recovery runs thrown in there and an easy 5 miler this morning. Not sure what’s going on but I definitely felt like I could have kept running this morning. I wanted to but I have a long run tomorrow and I had 5 max miles today.

One thing I am really happy about is my legs. I’m putting them to the test this summer and they are holding up well under the training load. Last summer at this time I was dealing with shin splints which ultimately led to a stress fracture. This summer I’ve been cautious with my legs, when pain existed I RICE-ed immediately or backed off things for a few days. That only happened a couple times and everything so far is going great. So, that makes me really happy.

Weekly Totals:
Runs – 42.41 miles

Total Time Working Out: 6 hours 30 minutes

7 Responses to “Weekly Wrap Up”

  1. Marlene August 22, 2009 at 1:52 pm #

    You've been training smart AND hard and it is paying off! keep it up!

  2. Oscar Yeager August 22, 2009 at 4:54 pm #

    Glad you like those long runs, 'cuz I sure don't!

  3. Runnin-From-The-Law August 22, 2009 at 7:49 pm #

    It is so good to hear you say you are having fun AND remaining injury free this time around.You've probably already blogged about this, but I'm too lazy to go back and look. Anyway – who is your coach? Where did you find him/her? And what "type" of plan does coach have you following (i.e. is it based on Daniels, Pfitz, etc??) Maybe you should do a whole new blog entry on this, since I asked so many questions! 🙂

  4. Bob D August 22, 2009 at 8:11 pm #

    40 mile week is outstanding given I know you do a lot of other training. Enjoy the wonderful results of your effort!

  5. Jo Lynn August 22, 2009 at 11:19 pm #

    Oooooh, awesome week. Glad your legs feel good. 😉

  6. sneakersister August 23, 2009 at 9:55 am #

    Bob! – where have you been? I've been waiting for some blog updates, and by the way, I've been carrying around that Nathan waist pack in my car to give to you for so long now, just in case I see you at the Parkway. Are you doing that prediction run coming up?

  7. sneakersister August 23, 2009 at 10:07 am #

    RFTL – back in March I posed the question: Can I teach my body to run faster? Or is there just a certain plateau you eventually hit and that's it? I asked my friend the same question and as a result she offered to write something up for me and help me out. That is how her coaching me came about. She's very talented, very fast, been running since high school … not really sure about the training philosophies she adheres to, she'd be a better one to ask and since I know she reads my blog maybe she'll decide to chime in here. Anyway, the goal was to help me get faster so we're doing a lot of speedwork and longer speed session. Lots of variety. It keeps it really interesting and challenges me but it is also making me much more confident with my running.

Comments are closed.

