It's Too Early For A Saturday

3 Oct

I was up early for a Saturday. My alarm went off at 5:45, certainly not the time I usually care to wake up on my lounging day, not that I’ll be doing much lounging today as I’ve got a dirty house to get under control. It got away from me when I was sick and then we went out of town only to come back and I was forced to hit the ground running all week. It’s been exhausting and the last thing I wanted to do was wake up before the sun for a run but since it was my only opportunity for a run today (DH is away at a golf tournament,) I strapped on my shoes and headed out the door,

Only problem was that I was hit by a wall of moist, warm air as soon as I opened the door. So, back upstairs, changed my pants and long sleeves to shorts and a tank top and then proceeded on my way. Two days of speedwork this week caught up to me, I felt sluggish out there this morning. Even the quiet Saturday air didn’t distract me as it usually does. I always feel a weird comfort running on Autumn mornings with darkness wrapping me like a blanket. It’s a great way for me to start my day but today all I wanted to do was be home with my coffee and sit on the couch. Surprisingly, my pace was a little quicker than I thought it would be once I got home and downloaded my data from my Garmin. Running in the dark is much more effort based for me than watch driven. It’s hard to see the watch face and even then, I have to constantly be hitting a button for the screen to light up. Too much wasted energy, I’d much rather focus on my running and my effort. I know, these things seem small, but I’m out there to run, not look at the numbers every minute or two.

So, what’s up with the weather anyway? It’s been pretty cool the past few mornings and all of a sudden it’s warm and humid. I wonder what tomorrow will bring …

2 Responses to “It's Too Early For A Saturday”

  1. Maria October 3, 2009 at 1:34 pm #

    Ugh – this morning's weather was teh suck! I want Thursday's weather back!!

  2. Christina October 4, 2009 at 11:02 am #

    I was surprised that it was warm and humid yesterday morning here too.

Comments are closed.

