Weekly Wrap Up

8 Nov

Today was my final long run before the marathon. 16 miles. My marathon shoes arrived on Friday afternoon and I had a chance to take them out for an easy 5 mile spin on Saturday morning but today was the day to break them in for real. Same shoes I’ve been running my last 600 miles in, New Balance 769’s, this time I went with the silver and blue. I also tested out a new shirt which is a possibility to wear in the race. I picked up an Under Armour reversible long sleeve shirt; wear the dark side facing out to keep the body cool and wear the light side facing out to warm the body. I know, I thought the same thing, how does that work? The weaves on each side are slightly different, too. I figured I’d give it a shot. Seems okay. Today’s run was 35° at the start and it warmed up quickly to 56° which means I was stripped down to a racing tank half-way through my run. The hardest thing for me is figuring out what to wear, you can be certain I’ll be taking along a few different options for race day. I just have to remind myself of the 10% rule when it comes to dressing.

This has been a real touch-and-go kind of week for me. It started off with a sinus infection and subsequent trip to the doctor, a prescription for antibiotics and an extra day of rest. Otherwise, I’ve been running since Wednesday with some good numbers and more confidence builders. My body was in recovery mode for most of the week and I’d have to say for the most part I’m back to my old self. I’ve been getting between 9-10½ hours of sleep a night this week. My appetite came back with a vengeance which I was pretty happy about. Oh, and I’m down two more pounds bringing my total weight loss to 12 lbs since the beginning of the year.

I’m ready for this race.

Weekly Totals:
Runs – 40.66 miles

Total Time Working Out:  6 hours

3 Responses to “Weekly Wrap Up”

  1. Oscar Yeager November 8, 2009 at 1:08 pm #

    Sounds like you've got all your ducks in a row.

  2. Progman2000 November 9, 2009 at 4:07 pm #

    holy crap, 9 – 10.5 hours of sleep? I'm jeoulous.I am started to get excited about Philly. Not quite there yet but starting to get fired up – next week will be fun.

  3. sneakersister November 9, 2009 at 5:09 pm #

    Progman, I get so much sleep it's ridiculous. 8 hrs is the least amount of sleep I can survive on. Some nights I'm in bed by 8 or 8:30 but usually around 9 pm at the latest and waking up between 6-7 am.

Comments are closed.

