Time for Tempo

6 Jan

I guess I failed to report on last week’s tempo run. Oops. Today was tempo run #2 in this little 10k training cycle of mine. Last week I ran a 2 mile tempo, 7:20 average pace. This week my speed session was a 3 mile tempo.

The workout: 6-ish miles with 3 miles at tempo pace.

Goal: tempo pace between 7:25-7:30

The results:

Avg: 7:22
7:25 – 7:24 – 7:18

Thoughts:

  • I ended up with 6.06 miles in total.
  • It was fairly windy and hilly out there today. My course was a relatively new one. I’ve run on these roads in the past, in fact, I ran right by my old house where I lived 8 years ago. And the middle portion of my run was on part of my upcoming half marathon course. It’s been a long time since I’ve been in this area.
  • Not much to say about this run. Unlike last year when I was often nervous right before my tempo runs for some unknown reason, I was ready for this workout and really looking forward to it. Everything felt good, comfortable and completely do-able.
6 Responses to “Time for Tempo”

  1. Christina January 6, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

    Great job with the pace. I need to incorporate more tempo runs into my schedule. I end up with tweeners…not at a tempo pace and not slow either. Thanks for the reminder to focus and actually work on getting my pace down.

    • sneakersister January 6, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

      Christina, you’ve been running great lately! I don’t know what you’re talking about. It seems like you’ve been focusing more on intervals (which are killer by the way! Those exercises between repeats would totally do me in.) Actually, it’s all intervals for the next 5 weeks for me; next tempo run is scheduled in 6 weeks.

  2. trialsoftraining January 7, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    Perfect pace!! And with hills? very impressive! I’m leaning that my tempo runs go *much* better when I do them outside vs treadmill these days…..too bad it’s so Cold and my Desire to run outside dwindles. Hm, can’t win ’em all 😉

  3. Julia January 7, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    yay for a great tempo run! I get nervous before tempo runs too. They seem so intimidating to me. Guess I just need more practice!

  4. Oscar Yeager January 7, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    I find the tempo runs harder than most of the speedwork intervals and stuff.

    I’ve also adopted your method of not worrying about the pace of recovery jogs in between intervals, because it got to the point where I found myself asking: What is more important, holding my speedwork interval pace/length, or hitting my recovery jog goal pace?

    So I came to the conclusion that holding the speedwork pace was more important, and if you run your recovery jogs too fast you won’t be able to hit the speed goals, assuming they are high enough.

  5. Alex January 9, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    Nice job on the workout!

Comments are closed.

